The laws surrounding car insurance and car accident compensation are slightly different in every state. Therefore, it is important that as a driver, you are aware of the state laws both for your home state and the states that you drive through.
Being involved in a car accident can be a very stressful and scary experience. This is why people often make mistakes when taking the right steps after a car accident has taken place. These missteps due to their fear can often result in real financial losses further down the line.
What is the law when proving fault in Virginia?
In Virginia, the law says that you must first prove that the other driver was completely at fault if you are going to be able to recover any damages from them. Damages that could be claimed include doctor visits, repairs to the car and lost wages.Virginia laws are in contrast with may other states, which often use the comparative negligence rule. This states say that if a person is 60 percent at fault, they must contribute 60 percent of the damages.
What is the statute of limitations in Virginia?
There are always time limits that control how long a person can wait after an incident has occurred before he or she makes a claim. In the state of Virginia, the statute of limitations is set to two years for instances of personal injury, and five years for personal property injuries.
If you have suffered damages in a car accident in Virginia, it is important that you take action as soon as possible in order to recover what you have lost.
Source: FindLaw, "Virginia Car Accident Compensation Laws," accessed March 22, 2018